Vintage Guitar and Bass forum

Gibson comparison

Gibson comparison
« on: June 04, 2007, 06:09:47 PM »
I'm still new to Gibson basses, and I am intrigued by the huge amount of EB
and Tbird players as opposed to the Rippers.  What are the basic differences, attractions, dislikes, etc from the Gibson players, and why do you prefer it over the others?  I've only played the EBs and Tbirds in the store, so my experience is limited.  I am drawn to the other Gibs, so I want to know what differences I would expect in comparison to my Ripper.

Gibson comparison
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2007, 10:57:40 PM »
It seems Gibson basses are a Love or Hate thing.  They are great basses, but not everyone appreciates them.  No, they are not a Fender Precision or Jazz.  They have their own unique voice and feel.  Most Gibson basses are a set neck design, and your Ripper is one of the few Gibson basses they made with a bolt on neck.  The biggest negative comments I hear about Gibson basses is that some people don't like the appearance or shape of the bass.  Yes, Gibson has made some that are visually "out there", my old RD Artist comes to mind.  The construction of the basses are good.  They seem to typically have a darker tone than most Fender basses.  Keep your eyes open, there are a lot of different styles out there.
Fighting Terrorism Since 1861.

Gibson LPB-3 5 String, Gibson SG-Z, Pedulla Pentabuzz,  Yamaha Nathan East, Martin B-65 Fretless Acoustic,  SWR Basic Black, SWR Super Red Head, SWR SM-900, SWR Goliath JR., SWR Big Ben, SWR Megoliath.

jules

• View Profile
EBs
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2007, 12:53:34 AM »
The EB basses are quite different from a Ripper. The EB basses have a real 'bassiness' that few other basses can reproduce. In part due to the short scale, set neck, and use of mahogany throughout, but largely due to the large humbucker, right up by the neck