Vintage Guitar and Bass forum

help with recording bass wiring

chuckocaster

« on: July 12, 2005, 08:41:42 AM »
hello all, i'm new to these parts and figured you guys might be able to help me out.

i aquired a gibson recording bass pickup awhile back and am now really itching to use it. it has eight wires and i've read the schematic, it just doesn't make sense to me. what i want to do is put it in a custom bass i'm building and just use that pickup alone. i just need to know what wires go where to make it work at full capacity. i don't want to do series parralel or coil split. i just want it in series.

thanks all for taking the time to look.

chuck

« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2005, 02:05:46 PM »
The recording PU is a stacked humbucker.  It is also a low impedance pickup... so you would need either a buffer preamp or a transformer, as on the original bass.

I haven't looked at the schematic in years, but it was quite complicated from what I remember. What I think you have is two tapped coils, so each one has 4 wires.

Also I believe you have the pickups from a LP Triumph bass, not a Recording... the Recording didn't have the tapped pickups... at least that's what I see from the schematic for the LP Recording.

If you have access to a digital ohm meter you can try taking some readings to find the beginning and end of each coil.  If you can find the start and end wires you should be able to wire it up in series and just ignore the tap wires.

I have the schematic in a binder somewhere.  I'll look it up and see if I can figure this out for you.

I've been wanting a LP Recording bass myself!

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2005, 03:33:01 PM »
OK, I found a schematic for the Triumph bass online.

It's here:

http://www.guitar-parts.com/images/gibson5.jpg

So as you can see, you want to use the red and orange wires.  You can tape up the other two (blue and green) as those are the coil taps.