Trying to find the value of your guitar?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Kalamazoo guitars.

Hey everyone.

I'm a drummer and I know a minimal amount about guitars.

Well, I was at a garage sale ealier today and I seen a guitar for 6 dollars that looked quite old. It does need some repair such as screws, strings, things like that. But when I got home, I couldn't find any information on them.

It's a Kalamazoo USA.

Does anyone have any information on these? The only thing I figured out was that Gibson made them? The serial number is 514532, if that helps any.

Thanks in advance!

Default kalamazoo

Kalamazoo was Gibsons budget line - also made at the Gibson Kalamazoo factory in the mid-late sixties. There were a few different models - just over 30000 instruments shippied - over half in 1966 - last ones shipped in '69

The Kalamazoo guitars and basses used a lot of standard Gibson hardware, though had bolt-on maple necks, and chipboard bodies.

Serial numbers are the same as Gibson serial numbers at the same time

I read that Gibson started the Kalamazoo line during the depression era to keep manufacturing but sell a model at a lower price.

Kalamazoos have been around for a longer time then the 60's.

I picked up a Kalamazoo at a yard sale...for 5 bucks!

It is a depression era (30's) 4 string tenor guitar.

I found an old Gibson ad depicting Kalamazoo from around that time.

L. Ron Hubbard (of Scientology fame) played one just like it (according to web info). It is awesome!

The only mod om mine was that someone cut out the pick guard to put on a pickup...which was not included.

Unfortunately, no dates or serial number are visible through the f holes?

This thing is definately a conversation piece.

MaxDB

Default Kalamazoos

Yes, they had used the name before... but just during the thirties. There were no electrics before '66....

Theres a Kalamazoo catalogue posted here

Jules,

That Kalamazoo EBO with the "Fender" head stock is way too COOL!