Vintage Guitar and Bass forum

1962 EB0 in need of TLC, newbie seeks advice

« on: May 28, 2012, 07:25:38 AM »
Greetings to all here.

As a newbie, I hope you won't find too many of the questions I have silly, or be bored by the EB0's history.

My background: after high school (1975) I did a two-year diploma program in Jazz Performance at a local college. My main instruments were baritone and tenor sax, but I also played some electric bass. I was very, very poor, and took a horrible weekend gig, bassist in a C&W band. I managed mainly because the band played everything in one key - I didn't need to know very much bass technique. I used a borrowed Rickenbacker bass nicknamed "the Purple Smartie".

I also taught woodwinds at local music stores. One of my employers,  come payday, pleaded no cash. Since he was a bit bent, I insisted on payment in kind if he couldn't pay cash. After haggling, I walked out with a 1962 Gibson EB0, s/n 86082. It was not in good shape - the finish was beaten up, and someone had "Improved" it by routing the body and installing a Fender Jazz Bass neck pickup at an angle, halfway between the original Gibson mudbucker and the bridge. (mudbucker had and has the black phenolic cover). The control wiring was a mishmash put together with friction tape and spit. The scratchplate and finger rest were missing. Surprisingly it played reasonably well.

About five years later, I got tired of looking at the horrible finish. So I stripped it - carefully - and found lovely  mahogany under the grunge. Rather than the original Cherry, I used a slightly lighter redwood finish which allowed the grain to show, and topped it with a polyurethane clearcoat (What can I say - I was young, ignorant, and not rich).